It’s a real shame the Board seems so dull!

18 May

This is a guest post by Emma Rickman. Follow her on twitter @whatthemoo

I’ve never been to a Board of Deputies meeting before, and wanted to see what all the hype was about following the online and offline publicity of the ‘Changing the Board’ campaign.

I left the Union of Jewish Students last year where I worked for two years, and so have some interest in the Jewish community and where it is headed, but wondered whether something like this could really inspire ‘change’.

It was interesting to see how out of touch some of the older people seemed. I appreciate that us ‘young’uns’ aren’t the majority that are involved in the community, and that should change, but the approach from one candidate in particular wasn’t great. In fact he alienated the majority of the room by persistently attacking us and our peers, leaving him to sound like a bit of a schmuck.

Laura was clearly the room’s favourite and I felt generally spoke the most sense.

My overriding feeling is that it’s a real shame that the Board seems so dull. If I were kept in contact with concise and informative updates from the Board I would be more interested in staying in the know. To me it all feels very ‘behind closed doors’ currently.

I’m not sure I’d watch a live stream of every meeting, but if something interesting was publicised I’d probably tune in because I’m a bit of a closet keeno! Plus, more than 50 people who couldn’t be in the room were given access via the online stream. That’s a great step in the right direction. If the Board chooses to implement such ‘new age’ ideas they may find they open themselves up to a whole new host of bickering from the younger Jewish generations.

Emma was writing about the hustings event organised by Changing the Board, the Jewish youth movements and UJS. Click here for more information.

3 Responses to “It’s a real shame the Board seems so dull!”

  1. Simon May 18, 2012 at 6:02 pm #

    Emma is quite correct….The Board are Boring! And in a time when the UK Jewish community is in urgent need for positive leadership and direction, now is the time to show it.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The morning after the night before: reaction to the Hustings event « Changing the Board - May 18, 2012

    […] click here for a guest post from Emma Rickman. Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like […]

  2. Credit where it’s due « Changing the Board - August 2, 2012

    […] Way back on May 18 I wrote on this site: If I were kept in contact with concise and informative updates from the Board I would be more intere… […]

Leave a Reply

