What is the one thing you love most about the Board?

9 May

We asked each of the candidates 12 questions about their vision of the board. The candidates appear below in the order they are in the Board’s emails.

Click here to return to the main post, but see how they answered the question above here.

Sheila Gewolb

The Board is the only Democratically-elected voice of British Jewry.  I am proud of the way we represent all shades of religious affiliation and political views.  We do not all agree with each other, but we provide the forum to have our views heard with respect and dignity.

Edwin Shuker

As a democratic institution, the Board genuinely represents our diversity, and this is our unique strength compared to other organisations in our community.

Simon Hochhauser

I particularly love the passionate diversity of opinions.

Marie Van der Zyl

I love its democracy. It is one of the most unique institutions within the British community. It isn’t something to be taken for granted and certainly not subverted but rather it should be cherished and protected.

Amanda Bowman

I love the diversity of the Board Meetings. They are like a simcha of a distant relative: being seated between the soulmate you’ve never met before and someone with completely opposing views. Deputies exemplify the rich mix of today’s British Jewry. It’s a very special thing to have a regular opportunity to be with such a diverse group. We may not agree but when we debate, the wide range of contributions are always helpful. I also love that we have regained our place as the acknowledged primary spokespeople for British Jews and are seen as credible, respected and representative.

Kim Cohen

The BoD reaches out to all sections of the broad spectrum of the Jewish community through its democratically elected representatives. This inclusivity along with the passion of my fellow deputies has impressed me in the 3 years I have been on the Board. 

Robert Festenstein

It has a familial approach.  It was very reassuring to receive condolences from the HOs, members of staff and deputies when my mother passed away in January this year.

Denise Lester

I love the fact that it is the only democratically elected body that represents the Jewish Community for the common good with dedicated deputies from many organisations with diverse opinions, diversity in age, gender and religious practice. Every single Deputy I respect, admire and wish to engage with.

Gary Mond

The camaraderie among Deputies. I really enjoy chatting with fellow Deputies about the issues of the day, even with those whom I profoundly disagree.

Tal Ofer

The rich history and the respect it has both inside and outside our community. I’m very proud to be part of the Board and represent it wherever I go.

Roslyn Pine

Having the opportunity to connect with Jews across the spectrum, both in terms of age and religious affiliation.

Leave a comment